“I’ll be honest, I don’t know what I’m doing. I’m hoping to figure that out.”

Stuart Sluss is a computer science student here at ETSU. When asked why he chose his major, Stuart told me, “I worked at a place called PC Tech for a few years in my hometown. Basically, I fixed people’s computers and iPhones all day. I guess at some point I just realized I was actually pretty good at it and wanted to take it further.”

Stuart also told me about his time before ETSU when he went to a community college in Virginia. “I didn’t finish. I really disliked it there ‘cause I guess I didn’t have any motivation.” He added, “I just wanted to move to Johnson City already so after my second semester I came here.”

I asked Stuart about what he hopes to do in the future. “I’ll be honest,” he said, “I don’t know what I’m doing. I’m hoping to figure that out. I have two more years here, I think that’s plenty of time.”

I think Stuart’s story is a great representation of what a lot of college students are going through. I really enjoyed speaking with him and I hope he figures everything out.

Abby

Leave a Reply

