“I’m not arty enough to be an art major…I’m too commercial.”

Today I learned what it meant to be a graphic design major while chatting with Bethany Thomasson in the D.P. Culp Center Cave. When Bethany told me her course of study, I wrongfully compared it to that of an art major.

“I love art, but I’m not into art the way some people are into art. I’ll be in the graphic design room and hear art majors talking about shaving their heads and gluing their hair to the wall with chocolate or something. And it’s art! And they make this incredible stuff. But I’m over here like, ‘Just pay me, please.’”

I asked Bethany about the most adventurous thing she’s ever done. “I was on vacation to the beach for the first time at Hilton Head in South Carolina and we went kayaking on one of the little rivers.There was a 6 or 7 ft alligator in the canal with us and it was coming toward us! And me and my two girlfriends are in these little tiny kayaks and the guide told us, ‘If they come, make a lot of noise and splash. Try to scare it away.’ So I hit the dang thing on the head with my kayak paddle! I’m thinking I’m going to die in South Carolina in this river and while this alligator who’s like twice as long as me is going to eat my entire kayak with me in it. But he finally swam away. I don’t know if I hit him or a log, but I was panicking. So that’s the most adventurous thing, but it doesn’t mean it’s ever happening again!”

Abby

 

Leave a Reply

