“I’ll be focusing on the geospatial aspect of geology…It’s actually one of the biggest growing sectors of the program.”

Meet Mitchell Ogden, a senior geosciences major here at ETSU. “What basically got me into the program was that I used to be a history major, but I wanted to try something different. So I tried out a few of the intro classes in the geography department here and learned about basic landforms, cartography and stuff like that. It was a mixture of all the professors I get to talk to on a daily basis and all the topics in the program made me want to major in it.”

Mitchell’s experience as a history major did, in part, pave the way for him to develop an interest in geology and geography. “Now that I’m a geoscience major, we’re getting more into the history aspects of the land.”

After Mitchell graduates with his BS in geosciences, he plans to go after his Masters degree. “There’s a really big blanket of things that I could go into. I’m not entirely certain yet, but for my Masters, I’ll be focusing on the geospatial aspect of geology, which is the cartography and satellite image analysis. So I’ll probably end up going into something along the lines of those. It’s actually one of the biggest growing sectors of the program.”

It was really interesting to hear about Mitchell’s plans as a geosciences major. We took his picture by the exposed limestone in The Cave because it seemed appropriate.

Abby

Leave a Reply

